History of the English-Speaking Peoples Vol. 1 by Winston Churchill

Volume one of History of the English-Speaking Peoples is The Birth of BritainI wanted to read this book because I have always been interested in British history (particularly the monarchy) but have never really sat down and studied it. The inter-connectedness of all the monarchs, their family lines, who usurped who, who was beloved, who was hated…it’s always intrigued me. Also, ever since seeing a Wishbone episode for a book that takes place during the War of the Roses when I was like 10, I’ve always wanted to know more about that war. I figure since it’s written by Churchill and a lot of what he has written has become border-line non-fiction classics, I’m going to squeeze this book into my Classics Club challenge.

This book did not disappoint. I found myself slightly bored at some points. Churchill obviously focused on some of what he found most interesting. For example, I did not care to know what a day-in-the-life was for an Anglo-Saxon nor did I find a need for an entire chapter on the legal system of feudal Britain. I really just wanted the kings and queens. I also couldn’t help but wonder if Churchill was perhaps not the most impartial historian ever to write a book (I’ve never read a history text call a figure in history “perverted” before). That being said, I did enjoy this book a lot. It really helped me in my appreciation for Shakespeare’s histories…who would’ve thought that having an understanding of British history would help with your enjoyment of the histories?

One thought on “History of the English-Speaking Peoples Vol. 1 by Winston Churchill

  1. Pingback: The Classics Club | The Bookish Girl Reads On

Leave a Reply

